The BBC reported, last week, that "A student campaign using the social networking website Facebook has forced a multinational bank (HSBC) into a U-turn over charges…"

After reading opinion in ComputerWorldUK I was still more concerned to find a fairly inconspicuous message, when logging-in to Facebook; "Check out your Public Search Listing

"Now people can search for this listing from Facebook's Welcome page. In a few week's time, it may also be found through search engines like Google."

What's worse, this happens by default – which is not obvious – nor is the method for opting-out (through the Privacy settings). As if we don't have enough spam, phishing and other malware to contend with! I have opted-out, and suggest you do the same.